I just finished watching UNC edge Notre Dame, 29-24, on TV, like probably a lot of yall did as well. And I can't believe either one of those calls in the final two minutes. The officials seemed dead wrong to me both times.
Do two wrongs ever make a right? In this case, they sort of did. The first one seemed to go incorrectly against the Tar Heels, the second one incorrectly for them, and ultimately UNC won the game as it should have if the first one had been judged the right way, IMHO.
To review: the first call disallowed an apparent UNC first down on a long pass to Brooks Foster, who seemed to catch the ball and come down before the ground knocked it out of his hands and out of bounds. But after a loooooong review, the officials said it was incomplete.
On the second one, a Notre Dame player caught a pass with about 5 seconds left inside the UNC 10. Then he either fumbled it or tried to lateral -- Butch Davis thought he was trying to lateral to a teammate who might somehow get it to the end zone -- but I thought he was already down. UNC did recover.
Notre Dame spiked the ball to try to get off one more play -- and UNC had 12 men on the field when that happened -- but the earlier "was it a fumble?" play was reviewed anyway. The clock also went to 00 and Butch Davis tried to run over and shake Charlie Weis's hand and get it over with. It was a mess.
I thought Notre Dame should have gotten one more play at that point, but instead the officials said it was a fumble and UNC had possession and the game.
It was a brutal and anticlimactic way to end the game, because it put the officials squarely in the spotlight for most of the game's last 20 minutes. However, bottom line -- huge win for the Tar Heels (5-1), who now should move from No.22 to inside the Top 20.
And let's all hope that officiating crew doesn't do any other game this season that any of us see on TV.
Panthers change mind, act, won't let Hardy play
10 hours ago