We wuz robbed.
It's a refrain you hear time and again in sports -- that the officiating cost somebody something.
In many cases, it's an excuse. Today, though, it's absolutely true. Detroit pitcher Armando Galarraga had a perfect game taken away from him by a bad call on what would have been the 27th and final out of the game Wednesday night.
After 26 straight outs, umpire Jim Joyce emphatically called Cleveland's Jason Donald safe after Donald hit a grounder between first and second. Galarraga covered first on the play, and replays showed that he clearly took the throw and got his foot on the bag before the runner.
Joyce, simply, missed it. And he has admitted it and apologized, to Galarraga and everyone else involved.
MLB commissioner Bud Selig won't step in and fix this -- he's apparently going to let it go the way of all other umpiring mistakes over the years and just let it stand. But he should.
Selig has the authority to do so. In normal situations, I would never advocate such a drastic step, but in this rare case it's warranted. The play would have ended the game -- a 3-0 Detroit win. Everyone agrees that the call was missed (and of course MLB should be able to consult replay on such plays, but that's another story).
I know some would argue this opens a Pandora's Box, but it doesn't. It's more about right and wrong -- a win-win for the pitcher who was robbed, the umpire who is distraught and baseball fans in general, who like everyone else love to see a rare night of perfection in our imperfect world.
Cam Newton cracks Tom Brady Deflategate joke
1 week ago